Is a Vegan Ketogenic diet Possible ?

Recapping the vegan diet

A vegan diet splits food into the plant or animal categories, forbidding animals and permitting only plants.

A vegan is thus not allowed to eat animals like beef, salmon or shellfish or animal products like milk, cheese, butter or bone broth – and honey according to some vegans [1], apparently!

A vegan is allowed to eat plants like beans, potatoes or kale or plant products like tofu, sunflower oil or margarine.

A vegan diet is most commonly a high-carbohydrate one due to the higher starch and sugar content in plants than in animals. Veganism does not seem to have its roots in our evolutionary past [2, 3].

Recapping the ketogenic diet

A ketogenic diet is based on the ratio of macronutrients, meaning how many calories come from protein versus fat versus carbs.

It is very high in fat and very low in carbs, typically around 70% fat, 20% protein and > 10% carbs.

Eating this way leads to your body turning a significant portion of its fat into energy-useful molecules called ketones (which you can measure at home!).

The calories from your  ketogenic diet can come mostly from animals or mostly from plants – the diet is agnostic about that.

The easiest way to kick-start a basic ketogenic diet is to eat mostly fatty animal foods and fibrous low-starch vegetables. A ketogenic diet does have roots in our evolutionary past and is traditionally rather high in animal foods.

Next Page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *